Castelli Aperti
 

 

Palazzo Tornielli a Molare

Palazzo Tornielli a Molare

History

The palace was built on the site of an ancient medieval castle.

Ottone del Bosco, lord of Campale and Molare, ceded Molare to Genoa in the early 13th century in exchange for investiture. In 1267, he was succeeded by Tommaso Malaspina, son of Federico and Agnese del Bosco, who built the castle at Cremolino and moved there. The castle in Molare, no longer the feudal lord’s residence, was demolished in 1625.

The tower and the “bridge gate” were knocked down in the early 19th century when Count Celestino Tornielli acquired the castle land and built his palace there. The noble Tornielli family has played an important role in Molare since the 16th century, serving as clerks, procurators, mayors, abbots and so on.

Originally from Novara, from the 12th and 13th centuries onwards the Torniellis owned many feuds around Novara and in Lombardy. The Molare branch received the title of count from the Savoys, and from Charles Albert the noble predicate of Crestvolant.

It seems that the neoclassical-style palace was constructed by Celestino Tornielli’s master builder. On Celestino’s death in 1840, the building was composed of the ground floor and first floor (the main floor), and it was his son, Giovanni, who had the third floor and the two towers added.

The palace interior was frescoed by Ignazio Tosi (1811-1861), a painter from Ovada who was also responsible for the family portrait still hanging in the hall on the ground floor.

 

 

Tour

Visitors can explore the halls and rooms on the ground and main floors. The two monumental staircases with double flights, decorated with statues, lead to the main floor and make a dramatic impression in the entrance hall. On the ground floor, the “Stanza del Vescovo”, the bishop’s room, has a vaulted ceiling with gilded rosettes on a cobalt-blue background and ornate furnishings. The main reception hall is decorated with gilded stucco in 18th-century style with eight niches holding vases with floral centrepieces and statues of Ganymede and Justice. On the floor above, the billiards room has frescoed ceilings.

Tours also include the old cellars, used today to host events, and are led by Countess Maria Luisa Tornielli.

 

 

 

Services

Event hire

 

Additional information

Local sights: Chiabrera castle, sanctuary of Madonna delle Rocche

In the area: Ovada, Alto Monferrato castles, Acqui thermal baths, wineries

Typical products: wines (Dolcetto d’Ovada and d’Acqui, Cortese del Monferrato, Moscato d’Asti, Brachetto di Acqui, Passito di Strevi), Roccaverano Robiola cheese, Ponzone Filetto Baciato salami

Sport: five-a-side football, tennis; nearby: horseriding, golf, outdoor swimming pools

Events: “Gran Polentone” (third Sunday of August)

 

 

SEARCH

Type

Province

Buildings

PHOTO GALLERY

OPENING TIMES

2014

Open
July: 13, 27
August: 10, 24
September: 14, 28



Opening times
15,30-18,30
Guided tours


Ticket
full price euro 7, reduced euro 5


Groups
(starting from 4 pax): open on reservations from June to September

 

 


INFORMATION

PALAZZO TORNIELLI A MOLARE
P.za G. Tornielli, 1
15074 Molare (AL)
Tel: +39 340 6868829; +39 333 4460736
Email: federico.tornielli@gmail.com
Web: www.castellipiemontesi.it

 

CHARACTERISTICS

HISTORICAL HOME (castle, villa, palace) with mostly residential use Furnished

Follow us on facebook
 
 

Castelli Aperti 2014 - P.Iva 22458912647758 - Powered by Blulab