The residence of the Taffini d’Acceglio marquises was built in around 1620, in perfect baroque style. It was designed by the architect Ercole Negri di Sanfront for Count Giusto Amedeo Taffini, governor of the city and the province.
The Taffinis were a military family in the employ of the House of Savoy, and they had been assigned the feud of Acceglio and the title of Count as a reward for their services in 1611.
To assert the family’s ascent, the Taffinis had a palace built on Savigliano’s main street, where the elite of the town’s nobility lived.
In 1897 the line died out and the palace was given to the Regio Istituto delle Rosine, which established a school for young girls in need and a nursery school.
The palace has two sections, joined at right angles on the corner of Via Jerusalem and Via Sant’Andrea. The austere exterior façades in ashlar-work contrast with the lighter internal courtyard, with three levels of round arches supported by slender columns.
In 1976 the palace was bought and restored by the Cassa di Risparmio di Savigliano bank, still the owner today. The bank’s foundation has provided important support to local art, acquiring paintings from the area. Visitors have the chance to see G.A. Molineri’s “The Triumph of Hippolytus”, a “Madonna and Child with the Infant Saint John” from the school of Molineri, two altar pieces by the Claret school and an altar piece depicting St. Peter attributable to G. Claret and his school.
From the internal courtyard, visitors can walk up to the main floor and the ceremonial “Salone d’Onore”. The barrel-vaulted hall has been completely frescoed by painters from the Savigliano school, students of Molineri, Giovenale Boetto and Giovanni Claret. The fresco cycle depicts the military exploits of Victor Amadeus I of Savoy, husband of Christine Marie of France.
The visit then continues to the more private rooms: three in 18th-century Louis XV style followed by one still in 17th-century style, with a wooden coffered ceiling decorated with gilded French fleur-de-lis and Savoy knots.
Event rental and educational activities.
Local sights: Palazzo Taffini d’Acceglio, civic tower, Piazza Santarosa, triumphal arch, Sant'Andrea church, S.M. della Pieve church, Milanollo theatre, Confraternita dell'Assunta, S. Pietro abbey complex, A. Olmo civic museum and D. Calandra plaster cast gallery, Confraternita della Pietà, multifunctional Ala, San Giovanni church, railway museum
In the area: Saluzzo, Manta, Racconigi castle and LIPU bird oasis, Lagnasco and Monasterolo di Savigliano castles
Typical products: Piedmontese-breed beef and cured meats, Alvà bread, cereals and maize, fruit
Sports: football pitches, public swimming pool, athletics ground, sports hall, bowls club, tennis. A pleasant way to explore Savigliano is to take advantage of the “Bici in città” bike sharing service.
Events: “Fiera Nazionale della Meccanizzazione Agricola” agricultural mechanization fair (mid-March), fourth stage of the Giro d’Italia cycle race (May), “Strasavian” (May), “Quintessenza” festival of herbs (May), “Estate in Città” (July), “Festa del Pane e Madama la Piemonteisa” dedicated to a special cut of Piedmontese-breed beef (biannually, after 20 September), “Ottobrando and Sport in Piazza” (October), various events in December.
Teatro Milanollo theatre season